ODU Retains National Firm for Presidential Search

ODU Presidential Seal


 COLUMBUS, OH - Ohio Dominican University (ODU) has retained Washington D.C.-based firm Academic Search to conduct the search for its new president. Dr. Thomas B. Courtice, President of Academic Search, will serve as the lead consultant to the ODU Presidential Search Committee.

According to ODU Board of Trustees Chairman Monsignor Joseph Hendricks, Academic Search will work with the University's Presidential Search Committee and the campus community to develop a presidential job description and screen candidates. The position will be posted this fall. The interview process will continue throughout the Fall 2009 and Spring 2010 semesters, culminating in the selection of a new president, who will assume his or her duties by June 1, 2010.

Ronald J. Seiffert will continue to serve as interim president during this process.

Academic Search works exclusively for colleges, universities, and related organizations in their search for presidents and senior administrators.

Courtice assumed the presidency of Academic Search on July 1, 2008, after serving for four years as the firm’s senior consultant. Prior to joining Academic Search, he served for a combined 27 years as president of three higher education institutions: Ohio Wesleyan University (1994-2004), West Virginia Wesleyan College (1986-94) and Westbrook College (1977-86).

ODU Trustees Ralph E. Breitfeller and Sister Maria Ciriello, O.P., Ph.D. have been appointed by the ODU Board of Trustees to serve as co-chairs of the University's Presidential Search Committee. Other members of the Presidential Search Committee include: ODU Trustees Thomas R. Winters '72, Judge Guy L. Reece II and Dr. Michael P. Kelty; Dr. Martha M. Armstrong '71, Professor of Social Work; Dr. John M. Marazita, Professor of Psychology; Father John J. Boll, O.P. '76, Director of Campus Ministry and University Chaplain; Anne T. Lombardi '03, MA, LPCC, BCPC, Associate Director of Counseling Services; and undergraduate students Ricky Shoop and Alisha Clemens.