• History of Ohio Dominican University

    Ohio Dominican University is Central Ohio's Catholic university and is guided by the Dominican motto, To contemplate truth and to share with others the fruits of this contemplation. At ODU, students connect their passion with a purpose.

    Ohio Dominican University was chartered in 1911 as the College of St. Mary of the Springs. It was founded as an all-women’s school, becoming coeducational in 1964. The college changed its name to Ohio Dominican College on July 1, 1968. Ohio Dominican became a university on July 1, 2002.

    Ohio Dominican has a rich history, notable alumni and significant milestones that have contributed to its success and identity. Click here to learn more about those milestones.

    A Truly Comprehensive University

    Ohio Dominican is a comprehensive university with a wide-range of undergraduate majors, in-demand graduate programs and flexible offerings for working professionals.In addition to our outstanding liberal arts foundation and traditionally strong academic offerings in Education, Business and Science, ODU has introduced new, in-demand programs. 

    New undergraduate programs include Insurance and Risk Management, and Software Engineering. New master's programs include Physician Assistant Studies, Medical Practice Management and Exercise Science.

    Catholic & Dominican

    Ohio Dominican University is Roman Catholic. It was founded by the Dominican Sisters of St. Mary of the Springs, which became the Dominican Sisters of Peace on April 12, 2009. 

    St. Dominic de Guzman, an itinerant preacher, founded the Order of Preachers in 1216. Dominicans are formed throughout their entire lives according to the four pillars St. Dominic established:

    • Prayer
    • Study
    • Ministry
    • Community

    The Dominican tradition of spirituality is rooted in common life: liturgical prayer and meditation, study, and ministry of the Word. These values continue to guide the faculty, students and staff at Ohio Dominican University.