Dozens of Ohio Dominican University students were recognized for their outstanding academic achievement and contributions during the university’s annual Celebrating Leadership and Academic Awards Ceremony on April 24, 2023.

The following individuals and organizations were recognized during the ceremony.

Student Leadership Awards

  • Community Spirit Award – Shyanne Neighbor
  • Diversity in Action Award – Khameron MacArthy
  • Dominican Spirit Award – Claire Dettwiller
  • Panther Pride Award – Danielle Kirk
  • Emerging Leader Award – Mia Rossi and Ruth Kamanga
  • Outstanding Leader Award – Jadelyn McNerney
  • Program of the Year Award – Campus Ministries’ Christmas On Campus
  • Student Organization of the Year Award – Environmental Club

 Academic Awards

  • David Allan Hamilton Christopher Award – Emily Wittekind
  • T. Kline Hamilton Award – Anastasiia Holovchenko
  • Bishop Edward J. Hermann Award – Claire Dettwiller
  • Joseph A. & Florence W. Lisska Award – Asyana Steele & Fernando Quintana Hernandez
  • Judith C. Mitchell Award in Creative Writing – Lorelei Theve for her fiction piece, “The Red Club”
  • Sr. Maryanna Childs Writing Award – Aliya Yacelga for her paper, “Dignity and Value of the Human Person in the Eyes of Council Document: Gaudium Et Spes.”
  • Provost Award for Academic Excellence – Elisabeth Henkaline, Anastasiia Holovchenko, Maryam Elmajdoubi, Keith Bray, Joshua A’Neal-Pack, Mario Richardson, Mason Lowder, Daniella Sanchez, Morgan Kirk and Sela Maben    
  • R.W. Carstens Humanities Endowment – Art Department (accepted by Dr. Janette Knowles), Program for Music (accepted by Jeremy Glazier), History (accepted by Matthew Ponesse), Philosophy Research (accepted by Jeremy Skrzypek and Honors Program (accepted by Dr. John Marazita)

Faculty & Staff Awards

  • Conley Award for Outstanding Teaching – Kwadwo (KT) Amankwah
  • Bishop James A. Griffin Exemplary Staff Award – Ashley Weisenberger

Academic Resource Center Awards

  • Writing Tutors of the Year – Lauren Thomas (Writing & Philosophy) & Keith Bray (Writing & History)
  • Subject-Specific Tutors of the Year – Saleem Kazimi (Mathematics) & Jadelyn McNerney (Accounting)
  • Review and Process (RAP) Leaders of the Year – Elizabeth Conway (Chemistry) & Kelsey Shaffer (Biology)
  • Outstanding Faculty Support for RAP – Annie Witzky, Ph.D. (Biology)